肉骨茶

肉骨茶

肉骨茶是马来西亚(和新加坡)是一道本地著名美食,特别是以福建人和潮州人居多的社区。 这道佳肴是以各种中国药材,烹炖的肉骨汤。 事实上,”Bak Kut Teh “这个名字(来自福建方言)就是 “肉骨茶 “的意思。

肉骨茶这名字可能很多人会误会以为是一种茶的名称,但其实是一道以肉骨烹调的药材汤,食材完全没有茶叶的成分,是以各种药材慢慢煮上几个小而成的。 肉骨茶有各种不同的风格,接下来我们很快就会给大家解说。 选用的药材因个人配方而异,其中会有八角、桂皮、丁香、茴香、当归、玉竹、枸杞、党参、川弓、熟地黄、甘草、白胡椒、大蒜、黑枣等等。

Advertisement

肉骨茶

派系和其他配料

此外,还可加入香菇、内脏、蔬菜、豆腐干或炸豆腐等其他配料。 在烹调过程中还会在汤汁中加入酱油(有清酱油和黑酱油之分)。 酱油的比例要视乎所制作的派系和风味而定。 福建版(主要是马来西亚北半岛)会使用较多的黑酱油,而潮州版(马来西亚南半岛和新加坡)则使用较少的黑酱油。

颜色较浅的汤汁可能胡椒味要比较重,而颜色较深的汤往往较甘甜,更多的药材味。 辅助装饰食材一般会有葱花、香菜碎和/或酥炸洋葱来搭配这道美味的药材汤。 而佐料,一般有酱油(清酱油或黑酱油)加上剁碎的辣椒和蒜末最为典型的。

Advertisement

肉骨茶

这道药汤的起源

在马来西亚对于肉骨茶的发源地和正宗口味也有不同的诠释。 有些说是当时中国福建省移民把它带到马来西亚的,也有说肉骨茶的发源地其实就是巴生谷(离吉隆坡不远的港口城市),当时,不少华人因为知识水平不高,来到马来亚也只能以劳力换取薪酬,如在码头做苦力或采挖钖米。 由于需要保持有很好的体力,但又舍不得购买昂贵的药材,所以就以一些廉价的药材,如当归、川芎、肉桂、甘草等制成药包跟一些残骨肉末一起炖煮,配上白米饭来增加体力。

肉骨茶肉骨茶

争论性宣称

其实很多的说法也不一定是自相矛盾的, 可能是某位从福建海岸地区来到了马来西亚的肉骨茶鼻祖。 比如有个福建人说他在1940把肉骨茶的配方带到来马来西亚的, 同时否认了于1930年代在巴生就有人已经“发明”了肉骨茶。但无论如何,肉骨茶的传说都与巴生谷息息相关。

Advertisement

在2008年五家巴生谷的肉骨茶商家联合巴生中华商会,煮出了一锅直径  182.88cm,深度91.44cm的肉骨茶锅。 这锅建力士记录的创举烹调,动用了近半吨的猪肉,50公斤的药材,炖出了相等于450公斤的汤汁。

变化

各种证据的显示,肉骨茶有各别独特的风格。 福建系的药材选用以及酱油,烹调出色泽较黑的浓香口味,而潮州系的较重于胡椒味以及色泽较清淡。 无论如何,福建话“肉”是bak(肉),而潮州州话的 “肉 “是 “nek”, 因此进一步证实肉骨茶是一道福建菜的说法。

Advertisement

肉骨茶

随着大众口味的要求,近代也出现了“鸡骨茶”,就是以鸡肉代替了猪肉。 清真药材“肉”骨茶的出现也捕住了穆斯林同胞的胃口。 还有以菇类蔬菜代替了肉类的bak kut teh,同样的俘儒了素食者的味蕾。

肉骨茶

怡保的肉骨茶

普遍上怡保宣称的是“正宗”福建肉骨茶,以酱黑浓郁的汤汁、肥而不腻的猪肉配搭而出众。 但可能你会发现怡保的肉骨茶有些汤汁色泽也是比较清淡的,所以其实卖相与口味是介于福建系和潮州系的。 在IpohGo,我们对这说法都有所保留, 但确实你都能找到这介于中间口味的,以及偏向酱黑浓郁型的肉骨茶。 无论如何,像其它的怡保特色美食都没有特定的怡保style, 口味也是因个人而异。 但是,无论你偏好那种口味,怡保都不会让你失望。

Advertisement

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More

Bak Kut Teh: Delightful Herbal Soup

Bak Kut Teh

Bak kut teh is a popular meal throughout Malaysia (and Singapore) where there are significant Hokkien and Teochew communities. It is a pork rib dish, cooked in a tasty herbal broth. Indeed, the name ‘Bak Kut Teh’ (from the Hokkien dialect) simply means ‘meat bone tea’.

There are various styles of this pork soup that we’ll address shortly. Firstly, however, we should know that basically this dish entails slowly cooking pork ribs over a period of hours in an intricate broth of herbs and spices. For example, these might include some or all of the following: star anise, cinnamon, cloves, fennel seeds, dong gui, yu zhu, ju zhi, dang shen/tong sum, chuan xiong, shu di huang/lo sok tei, gan cao (liquorice root), white peppercorn, garlic, black dates and goji berries.

Advertisement

Bak Kut Teh Ipoh Go

Styles and Additional Ingredients

Additional ingredients such as shitake mushrooms, pork offal, choy sum, and pieces of dried or fried tofu might be added. Moreover, soy sauce (of the light and dark varieties) is added to the broth during the cooking process. The ratio of light/dark soy sauce will depend on the style of bak kut teh being prepared. The Hokkien version (mostly North Peninsula Malaysia) will use more dark soy sauce while the Teochew (South Peninsula Malaysia & Singapore) form is lighter.

The lighter coloured broth has a more peppery taste while the darker bak kut teh soups tend to be sweeter and more herbal. In terms of garnish, this too can vary; sliced spring onions, chopped coriander and/or fried shallots may accompany this delightful herbal soup. As a condiment, soy sauce (light or dark) with chopped chilli and minced garlic is most typical.

Advertisement

Bak Kut Teh

The Origins of this Herbal Soup

Even within Malaysia there are debates about origin and authenticity. Some claim it is a dish that originated in the Chinese province of Fujian and brought over to Malaysia by the Hokkien diaspora. Others assert that it originates in Klang Valley (a port city not far from Kuala Lumpur) where it was served to ‘coolies’ – a derogatory term to describe labourers; in this case Chinese immigrant port labourers who were in desperate need to boost their dietary intake with a healthy herbal soup.

Bak Kut TehBak Kut Teh

Competing Claims

However, the competing claims are not necessarily contradictory. It could be the case that bak kut teh found itself on the Malaysian peninsular from the Chinese coastal city of Fujian. For instance, one man had claimed he brought the recipe from Fujian in the 1940s. Nevertheless, he was gainsaid by a Chinese physician (sinseh) in Klang who declared that he invented the herbal soup in the 1930s!

Advertisement

Whatever the truth, the connection to Klang Valley is strong: at the end of 2008 five local Klang sellers worked together (with the Klang Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry) to cook the biggest ever bowl of bak kut teh with a diameter of  182.88cm and 91.44cm in height. So big was this bowl that it made it into the Malaysian Book of Records having comprised of half a metric ton of pork, with almost equal proportion (450 kilograms) of soup and 50 kilograms of herbal medicine.

Variations

As is already clear, this satisfying and diverse pork herbal soup comes in a variety of styles. The Hokkien version typically uses a range of herbs and soy sauce that produces an aromatic dark soup while the Teochew Bak Kut Teh is more peppery and lighter in colour. However, the Hokkien word bak (肉) means “meat”, but meat in Teochew is “nek”. This therefore lends further support to the assertion that Bak Kut Teh is originally a Hokkien dish.

Advertisement

Bak Kut Teh

Other kinds of ‘bak kut teh’ have emerged over recent years including ‘chik kut teh’, made with chicken instead of pork. Some of these are halal, enabling Muslims to enjoy the pleasures of this herbal broth. Also, vegan and vegetarian versions of bak kut teh are springing up in Malaysia, using ingredients such as Oyster Mushrooms rather than pork or chicken.

Bak Kut Teh

Bak Kut Teh in Ipoh

It is claimed that Bak Kut Teh in Ipoh deviates from the “pure” Hokkien version with its thick, strong, dark broth and fat meat. It is alleged the Ipoh style is lighter and clearer, positioning itself between the Hokkien and Teochew broths. At IpohGo, we dispute this. It’s true you can find this middling variety in Ipoh but you will have no problem whatsoever finding the rich, dark and strong Hokkien versions or the lighter Teochew variety.

Advertisement

The truth is, like most dishes, there is no preferred style in Ipoh. It all comes down to personal preference. But one thing is for certain, whatever your favourite style is, Ipoh will not disappoint.

Bak Kut Teh at Home

If you’re looking to create your own Bak Kut Teh at home, then you will need a great seasoning pack and, in our humble opinion, there is none better than Miao Chun Sang. Their blend of herbs and spices brings bak kut teh to life.

Advertisement

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More