芽菜鸡

芽菜鸡

芽菜鸡(马来语Tauge Ayam,在马来西亚芽菜=豆芽)配米饭或沙河粉,是怡保最具代表性的美食。

芽菜鸡

怡保是芽菜鸡的发源地,源于广东白切鸡。 今天,无论您在马来西亚或邻国新加坡的任何地方,都可以发现这道名为“怡保芽菜鸡”的美食。 该名称可能会引起误解。 如果您还没有遇到过这道菜,那么您可能会以为这是豆芽炒鸡肉之类的。 但是,事实并非如此。 通常,当您点餐芽菜鸡后,端上桌后,发现不是一道菜名,而是一盘白切鸡和一盘芽菜。 此外,你还可以点一碗肉丸作为配菜。

Advertisement

Bean Sprouts Chicken Noodles

您也可以选择搭配一碗河粉或米饭一起食用。 河粉在沸水中煮上大概一分钟至半透明嫩滑,放入碗中,浇上鸡汁高汤便能上桌待食。 而米饭也用鸡汤/油煮熟。

白切鸡

Ipoh Bean Sprouts Chicken

这道以鸡肉为主的怡保经典菜肴,烹煮方式与海南鸡基本相似。 首先把鸡只放入沸水的蒸锅中,蒸煮至适当的熟度,然后快速浸泡到凉水中以停止高温过度煮透,这样能确保避免鸡只水分过度流失,以及保持原有鲜嫩的口感。

Advertisement

怡保豆芽

Ipoh beansprouts

至于芽菜(豆芽),使用蒸煮鸡只留下烧沸的高鸡汤, 入锅大概短短的几秒钟便能上盘。 浇上少量的芝麻油以及酱油,撒上一点白胡椒粉, 再以细切鲜辣椒以及葱花作点缀即可上桌。

怡保豆芽鸡

Ipoh Bean Sprouts Chicken

由于怡保得天独厚灰岩石山环市的地理位置,让这近打谷内的优质、富含各种矿物质泉水的盛产。 这不但直接影响了当地的农作物的质量(甚至烹调料理的过程),  从而提高了怡保美食的独特风味美誉。 这事实无疑就能发现在这简单的芽菜,特别丰满、肥厚多汁以及更爽脆,这肯定是马来西亚乃至全球,怡保独有的芽菜。

Advertisement

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More

Bean Sprouts Chicken: Ipoh’s No.1 Most Famous and Celebrated Dish

Bean Sprouts Chicken

Bean Sprouts Chicken (芽菜鸡 in Chinese and Tauge Ayam in Malay) with rice or Hor Fun (rice noodle) is probably Ipoh’s most famous dish.

Bean Sprouts Chicken

Ipoh is the birthplace of bean sprouts chicken and is derived from Cantonese white cut chicken. Today, wherever you are in Malaysia, or neighbouring Singapore, you will find this dish titled “Ipoh Bean sprouts Chicken”. The name can be a little misleading. If you have not come across this dish before you might assume it is chicken on a bed of beansprouts.

Advertisement

However, it is not. Typically, when you order beansprouts chicken, you will receive two things: a plate of white-cut chicken and a plate of beansprouts. Additionally, you can also order a bowl of meatballs as a side dish.

Bean Sprouts Chicken Noodles

In addition, you can choose to have this accompanied with either a bowl of noodles or rice. The noodles are cooked for around one minute until they appear translucent with a slippery smoothness, and then they are served in a bowl of broth ladled from the poached chicken water. The rice is also cooked in the chicken broth/oil.

Advertisement

Ipoh Bean Sprouts Chicken

White Chicken

The chicken is poached in much the same way as Hainan Chicken. It is steamed in a bath of hot water to cook, followed by a quick plunge into cold water to halt the cooking process to keep its truly tasty, moist, and juicy succulent texture.

Ipoh beansprouts

Ipoh Beansprouts

As for the beansprouts, these are very briefly immersed in the same boiling water the chicken has been cooked in. This process is very quick; around 10 seconds. They are then transferred to a plate, drizzled in a small amount of sesame oil, ladled with a light soya sauce, and topped with a touch of white pepper. In addition, sliced chillies are added before finally garnishing with finely chopped spring onions.

Advertisement

Ipoh Bean Sprouts Chicken

Bean Sprouts Chicken in Ipoh

Ipoh is a mountain city, set among limestone hills in the Kinta valley. Consequently, it is claimed that the mineral-rich water (high alkali content) transforms the local agricultural conditions and even cooking process.  According to locals, such conditions enhance the wonderful flavours of Ipoh dishes. No more is this true than the beansprouts, which are thicker and crunchier than any other place on earth, including the rest of Malaysia.

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More