伯奇纪念钟楼

伯奇纪念钟楼

历史沿革

“Birch”伯奇纪念钟楼是为了纪念和缅怀霹雳州第一位英国居民詹姆斯-W-W-伯奇而建造的,于1909年揭幕。当时它的建造费用为25000美元。它位于怡保的近打县内,与怡保州清真寺,苏丹伊德里斯-沙赫二世清真寺隔路相望,距离怡保火车站仅几百米。

可以说,它是怡保最重要的英国殖民主义遗产纪念碑之一。它是纪念1875年11月2日,詹姆斯-W-W-伯奇(James W. W. Birch)的纪念碑,他在近打河洗澡时被人用鱼叉刺死。谋杀他的凶手是Pandak Indut和Si Puntum,他们是拿督Maharaja Lela和马来人首领拿督Sagor Ngah Kamaddin Radin Lop的追随者。这四人都因谋杀伯奇而受审并被绞邢。参与谋杀阴谋的苏丹阿卜杜拉-马哈茂德-沙赫二世被废黜,流放到塞舌尔。

Advertisement

关于拿督Maharaja Lela 的谋杀动机有相当大的争议。有人认为,他是一个马来民族主义英雄,对抗不受欢迎的帝国侵略者。另一些人则认为,他想向詹姆斯-W-W-伯奇复仇,因为他在霹雳州取缔了奴隶制。拿督Maharaja Lela 是一个奴隶贩子。他的收入来自于夺取和出售Orang Asli(原住民)作为奴隶。因此,有人断言,拿督Maharaja Lela对自己贩卖奴隶的生计被破坏而感到非常愤怒,因此与其他奴隶贩子密谋暗杀伯奇 。

陷入这样的争论已经远远超出了本文的范围,但比较有趣且讽刺的是,这纪念钟楼的位置:伯奇纪念钟楼就位于以拿督Maharaja Lela 命名的道路旁边–Jalan Dato MaharajalLela😊。

Advertisement

伯奇纪念钟楼

伯奇纪念钟楼建筑

钟楼位于苏丹伊德里斯-沙阿二世清真寺和Dato’ Sagor 美食广场之间的广场上。钟楼有一个母钟,直径6英尺6英寸,重1000磅(约454公斤)。还有四个较小的钟,每个重250磅(lbs)。每个小时准点,它们一起敲响钟声。

原本,在纪念碑北面的壁龛上,有一尊James.W.W.Birch的半身铜像,下面是对他的献词。但在1958年左右消失了。

Advertisement

纪念碑是一座四面白墙的方塔,由四块面板组成,据称代表了不同的 “阶段 “或 “文明的发展”。每块面板都面向罗盘的四个基本点之一。

伯奇纪念钟楼

朝北的板块

伯奇纪念钟塔北面的面板代表石器时代(猎人、渔夫、女子纺纱)、狩猎时代(一男一女)和早期东方民族(一个带着黄金和象牙的努比亚人、一个迦勒底占星师、一个制作陶器的女子、一个埃及人、一个亚述人、一个波斯人)。

Advertisement

伯奇纪念钟楼

向西的面板

西面的板块涵盖了东地中海,有摩西、大卫、腓尼基人和一个女人,代表着阿吉安文明。远东则有孔子、佛陀、老子。希腊和罗马则有代表希腊艺术的女人、亚历山大大帝、柏拉图和奥古斯都。

伯奇纪念钟楼

南向面板

在南面的面板上,有象征拜占庭帝国的君士坦丁大帝。伊斯兰教方面,原本有一幅穆罕默德的插图,但在1958年遭到反对后,这幅插图被涂盖掉了。伊斯兰教先知的描绘是被禁止的。伊斯兰无神论者回避了众生的形象。

Advertisement

南面面板上的其他描绘是骑士时代的十字军,信仰时代的圣克莱尔,哥特式艺术的圣托马斯-阿奎那。文艺复兴时期的伽利略、米开朗基罗、维托利亚-科隆纳、哥伦布的画作,而马丁-路德则是宗教改革的体现。威廉-莎士比亚的画作则象征着伊丽莎白时代。

伯奇纪念钟楼

东侧面板

伯奇纪念钟楼东面的板块以 “现代科学、艺术和社会服务 “为主题,其中包括艾萨克-牛顿、威廉-哈维、詹姆斯-瓦特、一位无名刺绣师、贝多芬、罗伯特-斯蒂芬森、路易-达盖尔、佛罗伦萨-南丁格尔、查尔斯-达尔文、托马斯-阿尔瓦-爱迪生和约瑟夫-李斯特。

Advertisement

参观伯奇纪念钟塔纪念碑

这座伯奇纪念钟塔纪念碑是来怡保旅游旅客必须要去的地方。它位于霹雳州清真寺旁,距离怡保宏伟的殖民风格火车站不远处, 是怡保旧街场半日游的一部分。

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More

Birch Memorial Clock Tower: 4 Faces and a Murder

Birch Memorial Clock Tower

History

Built to commemorate and honour James W. W. Birch, the first British resident of the state of Perak, the Birch Memorial Clock Tower was unveiled in 1909. At the time it cost $25,000 to construct. It is located in Ipoh’s Kinta District across the road from the Ipoh State Mosque, Sultan Idris Shah II Mosque, and just a few hundred metres from Ipoh Railway Station.

Arguably, it is one of Ipoh’s most significant monuments to the legacy of British colonialism. It is a memorial to James W. W. Birch who, on 2 November 1875, was fatally speared while taking a bath in Kinta river. His murderers were Pandak Indut and Si Puntum, followers of Dato Maharaja Lela and fellow Malay chief Dato Sagor Ngah Kamaddin Radin Lop. All four were tried and hanged for Birch’s murder. Sultan Abdullah Mahmud Shah II, who was part of the murderous conspiracy, was deposed and exiled to the Seychelles.

Advertisement

There is considerable debate about Dato Maharaja Lela motives for the murder. Some argue that he was a Malay nationalist hero fighting unwanted imperial invaders. Others argue that he wanted to exact revenge on James W. W. Birch because he outlawed slavery in Perak. Dato Maharaja Lela was a slave trader. His income derived from seizing and selling the Orang Asli (original people) as slaves. Therefore, it is asserted that Dato Maharaja Lela was so furious about his slave-trading livelihood getting destroyed that he plotted with other slave-traders to assassinate Birch.

It is well beyond the scope of this article to become embroiled in such a debate but it is worth pointing out one of the interesting ironies here: the Birch Memorial Clock Tower is located next to named after Dato Maharaja Lela – Jalan Dato MaharajalLela 😊

Advertisement

Birch Memorial Clock Tower

Birch Memorial Clock Tower Architecture

The clock tower is located in a square between Sultan Idris Shah II Mosque and Medan Selera Dataran Dato’ Sagor Food Court. The clock tower has one mother bell, 6 feet 6 inches in diameter and weighing 1000 pounds (about 454 kilograms). There are four smaller bells weighing 250 pounds (lbs) each. Together, at the top of each hour, they sound the chimes of Big Ben.

Originally, on the north-facing niche of the monument, was a bronze bust of James.W.W.Birch with a dedication to him underneath. However, this disappeared around 1958.

Advertisement

It is a four-sided white-washed square tower consisting of four panels that are claimed to represent the different ‘stages’ or “growth of civilisation”. Each panel faces one of the four cardinal compass points.

Birch Memorial Clock Tower North

North-facing Panel

The north facing panel of the Birch Memorial Clock Tower represents the stone age (hunter, fisherman, and a woman spinning), hunter age (a man and a woman) and the early Eastern peoples (a Nubian with gold and ivory, a Chaldean Astrologer, a Woman making pottery, an Egyptian, an Assyrian, and a Persian)

Advertisement

Birch Memorial Clock Tower West

West-facing panel

The West facing panel covers the Eastern Mediterranean with Moses, David, a Phoenician and a woman representing the Agean civilization. For the Far East there is Confucius, Buddha, Lao Tzu. For Greece and Rome there are depictions of a woman representing Greek Art, Alexander the Great, Plato and Augustus.

Birch Memorial Clock Tower South

South-facing Panel

On the South facing panel, there is Constantine the Great symbolizing the Byzantine Empire. For Islam, there was an illustration of Mohammed but following objections in 1958, this was painted over. The depiction of the Prophet of Islam is forbidden. Islamic aniconism shuns images of sentient beings.

Advertisement

Other portrayals on the south facing panel are a Crusader for the Age of Chivalry, Saint Clare of Assisi for the Age of Faith, Saint Thomas Aquinas for Gothic Art. The Renaissance is portrayed by paintings of Galileo Galilei, Michelangelo, Vittoria Colonna, and Columbus, while Martin Luther embodies the Reformation. A painting of William Shakespeare symbolises Elizabethan Age.

Birch Memorial Clock Tower East

East-facing panel

The East facing panel of the Birch Memorial Clock Tower is devoted to ‘Modern Science, Art and Social Services’ characterised by Isaac Newton, William Harvey, James Watt, An unnamed Embroiderer, Beethoven, Robert Stephenson, Louis Daguerre, Florence Nightingale, Charles Darwin, Thomas Alva Edison, and Joseph Lister.

Advertisement

Visit Birch Memorial Clock Tower Monument

This Birch Memorial Clock Tower monument is a must do for anyone visiting Ipoh. Located next to Peraks’s State Mosque and just around the corner from Ipoh’s magnificent colonial-styled railway station,  it forms part of a lovely half-day tour of Ipoh’s Old Town.

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More