煎蕊

煎蕊

煎蕊是一种由棕榈糖浆(椰糖)、椰奶和以斑兰叶的色素染成绿色的粉条组成的冰凉甜品。 你可以在怡保 的街边三轮车摊、美食广场/小贩中心商场里找到这甜品。

煎蕊

变化

虽然煎蕊的吃法有许多变化,但最重要的元素还是刨冰。 在马来西亚,经典的煎蕊辅料主要是甜红豆。 其它较普遍的辅料包括了甜玉米、糯米饭和仙草,再淋椰汁最后撒上椰糖浆即成。 近期,加个仙草冰淇凌的煎蕊以及榴莲煎蕊也成为了食客的新宠。

Advertisement

煎蕊

起源

煎蕊的起源尚不清楚,尽管印度尼西亚的爪夷强烈主张可追溯到12世纪的“ dawet”(印度尼西亚煎蕊)。 虽然传统的dawet中没有使用刨冰,但如今在马来西亚,这已成为饮料文化的重要组成部分。

的确,就怡保以及马来西亚其他地区(如槟城和马六甲)而言,这饮料已成为解暑止渴的清透凉甜品。 一些专家甚至辩称,这凉爽刨冰的煎蕊甚至可能是槟城或马六甲于英国殖民时期就衍生的冷藏技术。

Advertisement

煎蕊

怡保的煎蕊

在怡保,您可以找到由老式刨冰机,手动刨冰的煎蕊冰。 来到了这座山城,爱吃甜食的食客除了配搭焦香的椰糖浆和浓郁的椰奶, 也能加入香蕉甚至奥利奥饼干。 您会发现在整个城市会有华人,马来人或印度人的煎蕊摊贩踪迹,包括路边的“ 煎蕊小卡车/三轮车”。 在怡保的某些摊位,还有配以“晕头浪”(黄果冻)的特色煎蕊。 煎蕊超级廉宜,味道甜美, 来到怡保时是必须尝试的。

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More

Cendol: A Popular Dessert with 800 Years History

Cendol

Cendol is a sweet iced dessert made up of palm sugar syrup, coconut milk, and green rice flour jelly. You can find this iced delight throughout  Ipoh on street carts, in food courts / hawker centres and shopping malls.

Cendol

Variations

While there are numerous variations of this commonplace dessert, one of the fundamental elements is shaved ice. Typically it is prepared with sweetened red beans and comes in a bowl with a dark syrup called Gula Melaka (Palm Sugar). Cendol normally comes with additional toppings such as grass jelly, glutinous rice and creamed corn. More recently, durian toppings and vanilla ice cream have become popular too.

Advertisement

Cendol

Origin

The origin of cendol is unclear, although Java in Indonesia has strong claims with ‘dawet’ (an Indonesian version) that dates to the 12th century. While no shaved ice is used in traditional dawet, it is a significant part of the drink today in Malaysia. Indeed, this sweet drink has become a thirst quencher in terms of heritage food in Ipoh.

It is equally as popular in other areas of Malaysia such as Penang and Malacca. Some commentators even argue that the true cendol, with its cooling shaved ice, might have originated in Penang or Malacca during the British colonial era and their refrigerated technology.

Advertisement

Cendol

Cendol in Ipoh

In Ipoh, you can find cendol made from old-school ice shaving machines to hand shaved ice. Various toppings like brown syrup, which is perfect for sweet lovers, are available throughout this limestone mountain city. In addition, you will find banana and bite sized Oreo cookies commonplace. There are Chinese, Indian and Malay versions throughout the city, including on ‘cendol trucks’ by the roadside. In some places in Ipoh it is served with Wan Tau Long (yellow jelly). This iced dessert is super affordable with a delicious sweet taste. It is a must-try when you come to Ipoh.

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More