怡保白咖啡

怡保白咖啡

怡保白咖啡在马来西亚是非常普遍的,而且众所周知怡保旧街场就是白咖啡的发源地。 除此以外,怡保也荣获孤独星球(Lonely Planet)评选为亚洲咖啡城市的前三名荣誉。 “白咖啡”这名字基本上都会给大众一些误解,其实跟咖啡的颜色是毫无关系的, 也没有“特别”白咖啡豆的说法。 这“白”在其中文名(旧街场白咖啡), 其实是源自于咖啡豆特别的烘焙方法。

怡保白咖啡

咖啡豆

怡保白咖啡所涉及的咖啡豆是普通咖啡豆。 这些咖啡豆通常是进口到马来西亚的。 但特别的是,它们是用棕榈人造奶油烘焙的。 怡保白咖啡的咖啡豆在低温下轻轻地烘烤,使其具有独特微微的苦味和烟熏奶香味。

Advertisement

怡保白咖啡

经过怡保独特的咖啡豆烘焙技术,配合甜炼乳或淡奶冲调,口感香滑、 泡沫丰富的白咖啡由此诞生。

怡保白咖啡的先驱

在怡保与开拓城市白咖啡概念和技术有关的地方是在(Leech Street)现称为Jalan Bandar Timah。 七十多年来,这条街一直是怡保白咖啡和烘焙咖啡的重点区。 新源隆Sin Yoon Loong Coffee Shop可能是市内最有名的kopitiam(咖啡店)。

Advertisement

如今,尽管怡保白咖啡(速溶便装包)遍布整个马来西亚(甚至更远),但这条街的kopitiams仍继续吸引我国以及世界各地慕名而来的游客到访,尝上一杯正宗的怡保白咖啡。

怡保白咖啡

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More

Ipoh White Coffee

Ipoh White Coffee

Ipoh white coffee is a common drink in all of Malaysia, but without doubt it originated in Ipoh’s Old Town. Lonely planet has named Ipoh one of the top three coffee towns in Asia. The term ‘white coffee’ has absolutely nothing to do with the colour of the coffee. Moreover, despite a popular misconception, there are no ‘special’ white coffee beans involved. The ‘white’ is a transliteration of its Chinese name: Jiù jiē chǎng bái kāfēi.  The word ‘bái’ means ‘white’, a colour that comes from its unique and distinctive roasting technique.

Ipoh White Coffee IpohGo

Coffee Beans

The coffee beans involved in Ipoh White Coffee are ordinary coffee beans. These are often imported into Malaysia. But what is special is they are roasted with palm oil margarine. The beans are gently roasted at a low temperature, which gives them a slightly bitter aroma and a smoky taste.

Advertisement

Ipoh White Coffee Iced IpohGo

This distinguishing and uniquely Ipoh roasting method is what provides the rich silky and slightly frothy foamy coffee. This beverage is often served with condensed milk.

Ipoh White Coffee Pioneers

There is a street in Ipoh associated with pioneering the city’s White Coffee concept and technique – Leech Street (retitled Jalan Bandar Timah). For over 70 years this street has been at the epicentre of both serving and roasting Ipoh’s White Coffee. Probably the most famous kopitiam (coffee shop) is Sin Yoon Loong Coffee Shop.

Advertisement

Nowadays, despite the fact that Ipoh white coffee is available throughout Malaysia (and well beyond), the kopitiams along this street continue to attract coffee drinkers in their droves.

Kopi IpohGo

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More