叻沙

什么是叻沙?

一个简单的问题,但也视乎您问的人,可以会有多个争议的答案。 要了解为什么会这样,我们需要研究其起源、类型和区域的差异。 本文将探讨这些困惑。 但是,如果需要一个简单的答案,叻沙就是一种辣汤面食。

叻沙起源于何时何地?

我们几乎不能断定叻沙的真正由来。 这是因为有一个以上的“类型”和大量的区域性和品种的各持说法,因此很难确定这道菜的确切起源。 但有各种各样的理论都倾向于把重点放在“叻沙”这个词的词源上。

Advertisement

其中一个这样的假设是,菜名来源于北印度语/波斯语“ lakhshah”,指的是一种细米粉。 另一种观点认为,叻沙一词源自粤语中文词(la sha),意思是“辣沙” –也许是指粉状虾子干赋予叻沙其典型的沙质感。 同样,福建话中的中文单词lup sup,是形容汤面凌乱且“脏”,以及“ luak sua”,在粤语也是述意“辣沙”。

实际上,我们无法将起源理论与叻沙的“类型”区分开。

Advertisement

叻沙有哪些类型?

这个问题的答案既不简单也不存在争议。 我们发现怡保(Ipoh)的朋友,例如在马来西亚南部的柔佛州(Johor)点购了叻沙(Laksa),但端上桌的却与他们期望的完全不同。

的确,大多数叻沙分歧都归因于简单的地理位置。 例如,砂拉越叻沙(由米粉,大虾,煎蛋条,鸡丝和豆芽组成)与马来西亚东部半岛的婆罗洲有很大的关联。 同样,柔佛叻沙(带有鲱鱼和虾肉汁的黄面条)与马来西亚南部的新加坡接壤。 其它叻沙变异也与地理位置相关,例如吉打叻沙,瓜拉玻璃市叻沙和Kuah Putih叻沙。

Advertisement

此外,娘惹叻沙与马六甲及其悠久的娘惹背景文化有着密切的联系。 这道菜通常被称是叻沙的鼻祖,与泰国叻沙和咖喱叻沙有很多相似之处(稍后会详细介绍)。 同样地,Laksam(一种米粉卷)在马来西亚东海岸或北部吉打州就较为普遍。

尽管Laksa有许多地区性的版本,但总体区分有两大类型:阿参沙叻和咖喱叻沙。 在怡保,这种区分很容易,因为“咖喱叻沙”就是“咖喱面”–一种完全不同,以椰奶为基础材料的咖喱面食,通常用黄面条和细面(米粉)组成。 因此,在怡保,阿参叻沙就是叻沙。 所以,怡保当地人在其他马来西亚州点Laksa时,会产生混淆。

Advertisement

Laksa Ipoh

阿参叻沙

这是最著名的叻沙,但是,你可能会发现它的原产地叫槟城叻沙,这又让人感到困惑。这是一种非常多的鲭鱼(ikan kembung)面条酸汤,它的辛辣程度不同。除了鱼之外,关键的成分是asam(罗望子),它赋予了汤的酸味。

其他赋予Asam Laksa特色味道的配料包括混合葱、香茅、姜黄(一种辛辣味的姜)和辣椒。结合鲭鱼肉丝和asam,这些材料被煮沸几个小时,以产生美味的叻沙汤。

Advertisement

舀上一碗厚厚的米粉,再加上薄荷叶、洋葱片、菠萝片、红辣椒、生菜丝和黄瓜条,就成了美味的叻沙汤。

怡保叻沙

怡保叻沙(或马来语Laksa Ipoh)与阿参叻沙基本相同,但往往更酸(而不是像槟城的较甜)。此外,对于喜欢吃甜味的人来说,一勺虾酱也是可以按个人喜好添加。论叻沙口味,槟城人比怡保人更偏爱甜味。最后,怡保使用的配料与槟城的也会略有不同。

Advertisement

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More

Laksa: A complicated and controversial ‘soup’?

What is Laksa?

A simple-worded question that can have multiple and competing answers depending on who you ask. To understand why this is the case we need to explore its origins, types, and regional variations. This article will explore these areas. But if a simple answer is demanded, laksa is a spicy noodle soup.

Laksa

When and where did Laksa originate?

We simply do not know the true beginnings of laksa. There is more than one ‘type’ and a plethora of regional varieties. It is therefore tricky to determine the precise origin of the dish. That said, there are various theories that all tend to focus on the etymology of the word laksa.

One such hypothesis is that the name of the dish derives from the Hindi/Persian word ‘lakhshah’, which refers to a type of vermicelli noodle. Another perspective is that the word laksa stems from the Cantonese Chinese word 辣沙 (la sha), which means “spicy sand” – reference, perhaps, to the fact that the ground dried prawns give laksa its typical sandy texture. Similarly, there is the Chinese Hokkien word, lup sup, which means ‘dirty’ due to the soup’s messy appearance, and ‘luak sua’ that, as in Cantonese, also means “spicy sand”.


In truth, we cannot differentiate the theories of origin from the ‘type’ of Laksa.

What types of Laksa are there?

The answer to this question is neither straightforward nor without controversy. We are aware of Ipoh friends who have visited, for example, Johor in the south of Malaysia and ordered laksa, only to be served something quite different to what they expected.

It is certainly true that most of the laksa variations come down to simple geography. For instance, Sarawak Laksa (consisting of rice vermicelli, prawns, omelette strips, shredded chicken and beansprouts) is very much associated with this Borneo state on Malaysia’s East Peninsula. Likewise, Johor Laksa (yellow noodles with a gravy derived from herring and prawn) is linked with Malaysia’s southern state bordering Singapore. Similarly, other laksa variations are connected to geographical locations such as Laksa Kedah, Laksa Kuala Perlis and Laksa Kuah Putih.


Furthermore, Nyonya Laksa is strongly associated with Malacca and its historical Peranakan ancestors. This dish is often cited as the original laksa and has many similarities to both Thai and Curry Laksa (more on this later). Equally, Laksam (with its rice noodle ‘rolls’ is usually observed in the East Coast of Malaysia or in the northern state of Kedah.

Nevertheless, despite the many regional versions of laksa, it could be argued that there are two broad types: Asam Laksa and Curry Laksa. In Ipoh, this distinction is easy: “Curry Laksa” is simply “Curry Mee” (or Curry Noodles). Curry Mee is an entirely different coconut-based curry dish that is normally prepared with yellow noodles and vermicelli (beehoon).  So, in Ipoh, Asam Laksa is Laksa. Hence the confusion for Ipoh locals who order laksa in some other Malaysian states!

Laksa Ipoh

Asam Laksa

This is the most well-known Laksa but, once again, it is confusing as you might find it called Penang Laksa, where it originated. This is very much a mackerel (ikan kembung) noodle sour broth, which varies in degrees of spiciness. Besides the fish, the key ingredient is asam (tamarind), which gives the soup its sour taste.


Other ingredients that give Asam Laksa its characteristic taste include a blend of shallots, lemongrass, galangal (a piney flavoured ginger), chillies and turmeric. Combined with the shredded mackerel and asam, these ingredients are boiled for a few hours to produce the delicious laksa broth.

Ladled over a bowl of thick rice noodles, the laksa soup is garnished with mint leaves, thinly sliced onion, pineapple slices, red chillies, shredded lettuce, and cucumber strips.

Ipoh Laksa

Ipoh laksa (or Laksa Ipoh in Malay) is basically the same as Asam Laksa but tends to be more sour (rather than sweet like in Penang). Furthermore, a spoonful of prawn paste is served as an optional side for those who would prefer a stronger sweet flavour. Penang people are more partial to sweetness than Ipoh people. Lastly, the garnishes used in Ipoh can differ slightly to those used in Penang.


Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More