薄饼

薄饼

Popiao(马来西亚福建话读法)薄饼, 其实不算怡保独有,甚至马来西亚。 这类似春卷的小吃在印度尼西亚、台湾、新加坡或亚洲其他国家都很普遍。 其实它也有一个外称- ‘亚洲墨西哥饼’,因为在亚洲各地有这类小吃。 其实以”薄饼“命名这小吃略有不符。 相比馅料简单的墨西哥饼,薄饼馅料是更多样化及丰富的。

薄饼

起源

虽然不是原自怡保,但薄饼还是与它的“发源地”息息相关。 在中国的福建省(特别是厦门),还有挨着的潮汕区,这食物还是很普遍的。 下南洋潮时代, 福建人与潮州人从中国大陆移居至东南亚的各个角落,包括了怡保(虽然怡保以广东籍居多)。 所以在怡保的各个角落你都能发现到薄饼的踪迹,特别是“藏”在四周的小食中心或美食广场

Advertisement

薄饼

薄饼的成分

那么,新鲜薄饼的口感和味道是怎样的呢? 我们先从裹皮(面皮)说起吧。 薄饼的面皮是将浓稠的大麦粉糊,均匀的倒在烧热了的平底锅上, 抹平至薄薄的一张面粉皮煎熟。这一片薄饼面皮就完成。

薄饼

酱料和馅料

接下来是酱料。 Popiah的馅料各不相同, 但一般都含有丰富的配料,包括给予香味及甜味的虾酱白眉豆泥,酱油或海鲜酱。 其它的菜料还有蒸或炸的白萝卜丝、炸洋葱、豆芽、胡萝卜丝、豆腐干丝以及煎蛋丝,几片的腊肠和花生碎等也是常见的食材。 当然少不了按个人喜爱的甜、辣酱来进一步刺激味蕾。

Advertisement

怡保式

在怡保,薄饼会切成几小块,以方便享用和方便使用筷子与朋友分享此美食。

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More

Popiah

Popiah

Popiah is a fresh spring roll. Although is not specific to Ipoh (or even Malaysia), it is a popular dish here. It is also commonly found in places such as Indonesia, Taiwan, and Singapore. Indeed, even its nickname – the “Asian Burrito” – suggests its wide availability throughout Asia. However, its nickname gives it a disservice. The popiah filling is much more intricate and is comprised of numerous more ingredients than a regular burrito.

Popiah

Origins

Despite not being indigenous to Ipoh, its roots are connected to the city. Popiah originates and remains popular in the Fujian province of China (particularly Xiamen) and the bordering Chaoshan province. The Hokkien and Teochew diaspora from these respective provinces are found throughout Southeast Asia. Although most of the Chinese heritage in Ipoh is Cantonese, there is still a significant Hokkien and Teochew influence. Consequently, you will find Popiah throughout the city, especially in its wide selection of food courts / hawker centres.

Advertisement

Popiah

Popiah Ingredients

So, what are the textures and flavours of this fresh spring roll? Firstly, there is the actual ‘wrap’ that is essentially a soft, thin pancake made from an exceedingly gelatinous and wet wheat flour dough. A small ball of this dough is spread onto a hot steel plate and lifted until a very thin layer of the wet dough sticks to the plate and begins to cook. This process quickly leaves a “wrap” that can be peeled from the hot plate and is ready for filling.

Popiah 2 of 2

Sauce and Fillings

Secondly, there is the sauce. The fillings for popiah vary, but typically contain a lavish amount of ingredients including an aromatic and sweet tasting shredded yam bean. This bean might be blended with shrimp paste, soy sauce or hoisin sauce. Thirdly, beyond the sauce there are ample crunchy vegetables (mostly grated). These include steamed or stir-fried turnip, fried shallot, bean sprouts, lettuce, carrots, and fried tofu. Moreover, shredded omelette, pieces of Chinese sausage, and crushed peanuts are also common ingredients. There is of course, the option of a sweet and spicy chilli sauce to give it that final kick.

Advertisement

Ipoh style

In Ipoh the popiah roll is often cut into slices so they can be easily picked up or used with chopsticks.

Share
Tweet
WhatsApp
Pin
More